The Cowboys got screwed

OK, so the guy catches the ball, takes two steps, lunges for the endzone, falls inches short, and loses ball. The referee standing right on top of the play immediately signals complete pass, no touchdown. Cowboys on the 1 yard line ready to face the Packers in an epic goal line stand situation?

Nope. It never happened. Some anonymous review analyst over-rode the referee standing right on top of the play and decided it was not a catch. Dallas immediately turns the ball over on the next play. Game over. No dramatic finish.

They screwed this one up royally. That WAS a catch. I’m not a Cowboys fan so no need for all the sour grapes claims. I’m a Randall Cobb ergo Packers fan at this time. The Packers might have stopped them anyway. A field goal wouldn’t have won, the Cowboys would have had to put it in the end zone to win it. But, we’ll never know because some idiot rules wonk determined that counting to three was more important than the obvious.

Video reviews are a good idea. However, when slowing things down to micro-seconds to parse the rules it isn’t realistic. Just replay the play at regular speed twice. If it isn’t obvious that the call on the field was wrong after the second try, move on.

<a href="http://www.sodahead.com/entertainment/did-the-cowboys-get-screwed/question-4663290/" title="Did the Cowboys get screwed?">Did the Cowboys get screwed?</a>